Across the Mississippi River into Louisiana and Texas

From Natchez, across the Mighty Mississipp into Louisiana, then on to Texas.

The big surprise here was Catahoula National Wildlife Refuge, less than an hour across the Louisiana state border, unless you stop and eat a Moonpie after crossing the bridge (as did I). Catahoula, once you get deep into the park, is another world. You have to take a gravel road and loop around a small lake. Some of the visuals are stunning, like liquid emerald swamps, moss-dripping trees, and shy herons and gaters that wouldn't pose for a good picture. Also a charming but very well camouflaged little frog that I only saw bc it jumped when (I think) I nearly stepped on it. And I believe the most perfect flower I've ever seen. And lots of thick forest.

See the frog? Start the video, and it will disappear, reappear when the camera zooms in, then again disappear when the camera zooms out. Natural selection in action.
views
1 response
That camouflaged little frog is amazing that you saw it at all!!